Last Chance To Be Immortal

Time is winding down to enter the contest in honor of the first ever Pearls app for the iPad.  Entries have to be in by midnight PST on Friday, January 27.

The winner will be forever immortalized by having his/her name mentioned in one of my daily strips. (First name only.)

All you have to do is watch the app, and then afterwards, correctly answer all of the questions.  At the end of the game, I’ll randomly pull out one winner.

Just email your answers to: contests@chroniclebooks.com

Here are the questions again:

Only the Pearls Search and Find Game

  1. Name the coffee shop where Rat works as a barista and opines about Louisa May Alcott.
  2. What do I have trouble drawing? I mean, aside from everything. What do I specifically have trouble drawing?
  3.  It’s a __________ move to surround yourself with your own memorabilia.
  4. How many rules does each strip need to pass in order for me to consider it funny?
  5. Who in the Writing Room might need a trip to the optometrist and why?
  6. One word: _____________
  7. What does Pig whisper and how do you know he’s whispering?
  8. Pig and I own the same piece of clothing. What is it?
  9. What are the answers to the Jumble I created?
  10. What magical creature does Zebra not believe in?
  11. Where did my bulletin board come from?
  12. What seems to be the beverage of choice in the Writing Room?

Good luck!

P.S.  And in case you missed the cool trailer, it’s right here:

45 thoughts on “Last Chance To Be Immortal

  1. I don’t have an iPad, so for me, it will be much more fun to answer the questions without the app.

    I can make up crap just as easily as you can. 😉

  2. Only for the iPad?! So you think the rich snobby folk who have iPads can comprehend your cheap humor? Way to leave a po brotha hangin =[

    Ps- when’s the iPhone app coming out?

  3. The app looks lovely, and as soon as I steal an iPad, I promise to pirate it.

    Meantime, wanted to mention that we’re working through three Pearls treasuries bought for Christmas, and one strip in particular made me hoot. Only say this because it’s in your rejected section and you thought it weak. It’s on p. 257, and Pig’s answer to what he would do differently if he could live his life over. His answer: “I’d cry more / Because I’d know what was gonna happen” surprised me so much I barked with laughter, forcing my cat off my lap. But the third panel, with Pig telling Rat “Don’t be embarrassed. We all ask stupid questions.” was so sweetly Pig — knowing and brave and considerate — that I’d put this in my PBS top 10. Or maybe it says too much about me.

  4. The sound problem can be solved by just turning off the mute button on your iPad. Since the mute function is kind of erratic (It doesn’t work for videos and music, but it does affect apps. So people don’t realize it’s on.)

    Also, PERFECT SCORE!😀

  5. I would download it, but I prefer my compass app which helps me find the direction I’m facing.

  6. I agree Android please but we have an ipad and it is awesome. It is so much fun Stephan. Again, this is a must buy. If you like anything about comic strips, this is a must have. CONGRATS!

  7. Stephan, of the 40+ apps I have on my iPad, yours is, without a doubt, the best. Why? Because it utilizes many features of iOS brilliantly, including a few that I didn’t even know about–plus it’s hilarious! Great job.

  8. It you only get your first name in the strip, I’m pulling for a “Jim” to win. Then I can just tell all my friends I won anyway. Or you can do it right and including first and last names.

  9. Don’t have and don’t want an iPhone. But maybe the winner will have the same name as I and it will work out anyway.

  10. I’d enter but I’d have to buy an IPad and that’s probably not going to happen.

  11. Submitted with about 28 minutes left! I will be immortal! By the way, stephan, will you tell us how many people entered?

  12. Pingback: Waiting To See If I’m Going To Be Immortal: “Only the Pearls” for iPad | David Atkinson's Blog

  13. While we’re voting for Android/Kindle, be sure to add a version for the Nook Tablet. We Barnes and Noble people are big fans, too.

  14. Please Stephen, for the sake of all that is right and good in the world, make this app available for Android!

Leave a Reply

