The Limitations of Facebook Messaging

If you’re a cartoonist, you have to know how to write out sounds.

Like when someone says something sweet, the response is “Awwwww.”

And when someone gets hit in the face, the correct noise is either “CRACK” or “SMACK.”

But if it’s in the stomach, it’s “OOF” or “OOMF”.

And if someone says something that you just begin to understand, you say, “Ohhhhhhh.”

But if someone screams in horror, it’s “Ahhhhhhh!”

I bring all this up because last week I wrote a Facebook message to someone I had known in high school but hadn’t seen in twenty years.  I told her I had been thinking about her and wished her Merry Christmas.

In reply, I think she wanted to let me know that was sweet by saying, “Awwwwww.”

But that’s not what she wrote.

She wrote, “Ahhhhhhhh.”

I think I’ll stop writing her.

26 thoughts on “The Limitations of Facebook Messaging

  1. Funny, I always thought when something was awful it was “Aaaaaaaah!” Anyway, a happy new year to all.

  2. That is the danger of Facebook and whatever you do watch out for Classmates or whatever the hell it is called. I am not on Classmates, but my husband is and an OLD (I mean that both ways) girlfriend keeps trying to hook up with him even though he has told her “NO WAY”. Now he has created a monster in her and wants to change email addresses, facebook, twitter etc. I told him she will go away, but a year later he keeps bitching about the OLD bitch (I am the new bitch, only he is married to me) and that she is constantly emailing him. Before you say, he is doing it on purpose, I can assure you he is not….not that he cannot be sneaky, but he definitely does not want anything to do with her (old does not even begin to describe her, maybe ugly and fat. So watch out for those weirdos’ who you knew when they might have been sane,they may hav become insane!

  3. “Ahhhhh!” coulda been a sigh of satisfaction — or even passion. I’m sure that it was one or the other of these. just be thankful it wasn’t “Eeeek!” (I get those a lot.)

  4. I’m with Spaceman; I thought “Aaaaaaaah!” was horror and Ahhhhhhh!” was satisfaction.

  5. Just be sure your woomun doesn’t find out that you were trying to talk to an old female classmate, or else she might CRACK your OOMFaloompas.

  6. I think “Ahhhh!” is horror and “Ahhhhh.” is realization. Although what she might have finally realized about you is unclear…

  7. Pretty sure that “Ahhhhh” means “that’s kind of creepy – I haven’t seen you in 20 years and you’re still thinking about me?” If you were anyone else, you’d probably be off her friends list by now.

  8. Maybe the way you greeted her was so deep and profound that she responded by writing, “Ahhhhh”.

  9. Well, when I contact old friends via Facebook, I usually get a response of: “Shit”.

    I interpret that to be a misspelling of “Awwwwww” too.

  10. I think I would have put finger to the lips and gone “blwblwblwblwblwblwblw!”

  11. I used to not know the difference between ahhhh and awwww. When I was twelve years old, I was writing a “comic strip” (if it can be called that) and I sometimes used them interchangeably. Luckily, I eventually figured it out.

  12. Hey Spaceman – Happy New Year to a fellow PBS, Pasty fan and to you to Nonconspiracy, also Nonconspiracy you are right it pisses the shit out of the wife, she thinks of ways to get back at you all the time (at least I do!).

  13. A friend did something like this to me but I got back an awe. I feel so special now that I’m awesome!

  14. Pingback: The Limitations of Facebook Messaging (via Pearls Before Swine) « Rygallagher's Blog

  15. You have all inspired me to write a definitive dictionary of comic strip onomatopoeia.

    but first, *scritch!* I have to make sure onomatopoeia is spelled right….*klik!…tikka-tikka-tikka! bloink!* No, that’s not it. *klik…A-Ha!*

    Now I can finish my comment. *klik!…tikka-tikka-tikka! klik!*

Leave a Reply

