I’m Taking the Winnebago to San Diego

I’m off to San Diego’s Comic-Con to speak on Friday, July 23 at 2 pm.   I’m on this panel about Peanuts:

2:00-3:00 Peanuts Turns 60— On October 2, 1950 the Peanuts comic strip launched in seven American newspapers. Little did anyone know the impact this comic strip would have around the world for decades to come. Nearly 60 years later, Peanuts appears in over 2,200 newspapers, in 75 countries and 21 languages. The animated specials have become a seasonal tradition and thousands of consumer products are available in every country around the world. Moderator Jerry Beck (animation historian/cartoon producer/consulting producer to Warner Bros., Universal, and Disney), Comic-Con special guest Jeannie Schulz (widow of Peanuts creator Charles Schulz), Paige Braddock (creative director of Charles M. Schulz’s studio in Santa Rosa), Andy Beall (fix animation lead for Ratatouille, Wall-E, UP), Stephan Pastis (creator of Pearls Before Swine), and Marge Dean (general manager, W!ldbrain Animation Studios), present an in-depth foray into the work of Charles M. Schulz and what new things fans can look out for from Peanuts. Warner Premiere is joining the celebration with a sneak peek of something all new from Peanuts that fans won’t want to miss. Room 25ABC

So stop by if you can, and afterwards, I’ll try to sign stuff for you.

The rest of the time I’ll be drinking beer by the pool.  Don’t stop by then, unless you have a whole lot of free beer in your hands.


33 thoughts on “I’m Taking the Winnebago to San Diego

  1. Very cool. I’ll be thousands of miles away, but I hope you have a great time.

  2. Dangit! I just left CA for the east coast, and now I’m missing this. So disappointing.

  3. You seem to be the least decorated person on the board besides possible Jeannie. Congrats on getting into such a great group.

  4. By the pool, may we assume if we bring free beer, you will TAKE OFF YOUR SHIRT???!!!

  5. So the panel will be, “Peanuts was the best thing ever.”

    Then you going, “Peanuts was really good but get it the hell out of papers so that way new cartoonists could have a chance. If people want to read Peanuts then they should buy a treasury and not the newspaper. It’s call the NEWSpaper. Not the 60-year-old-jokepaper.” Rat then tells you to learn a sense of shame for bad punning.

    The crowd will get angry. At which point you offer to solve everything by taking off your shirt.

  6. My eyes just about popped out when I read today’s title for your blog. My friend knows how much I love Pearls, so she e-mailed me that particular Fox Trot when she saw it. I still like the South American diorama one better though, nothing tops it. Have fun!

  7. (singing)
    One of these people are not like the others
    One of these people just doesn’t belong…

  8. That panel line-up is the classic “which of these is not like the others”. It should be added to next year’s SAT test.

  9. If I had the time to drive down to SD, I would go looking for you poolside, with a case of ice cold beer in hand, just for fun!!

    Hope you have a great time!

  10. Don’t you really think it is time Peanuts was retired? It was sharp and had a cutting edge when I was 14 years old (about 1958)… but indeed nothing (but maybe Shakespeare and Beethoven) lasts for ever. The strip frequently references events or people that only seniors recall. Is the comics world really so bereft of talent that there isn’t a new face that can replace Peanuts? Ditto for family guy.

    Now, having said all that, I think I may be missing something. Newspapers and apparently fellow comics artists have a deep respect for Peanuts that I just don’t get. If you have time, can you please explain that to me?

    Best wishes. I have often thought how difficult it must be to come up with a comic strip 7 days a week. No wonder some of my favorites (Calvin, Far Side and Motely’s Crew) have retired. Keep up the good work.

  11. Your wife must have the patience of a saint.
    If I called mine a Winnebago I wouldn’t be able to walk for a month.

  12. I just saw the Sunday July 25th comic. I’m not sure which pair had the better expersion to the spill, Zebra and the Croc (love the Croc’s kinda wide-eyed shock look by the way), Guard Duck and Snuffles, or you and Goat. But amen on the message. And considering how many birds we’ve been seeing affected by the spill Guard Duck’s presence is the most symbolic in the strip. So many animals suffering, birds, turtles, fish, and other marine life, but most of the characters don’t seem to represent the animals the news has been showing as well as a flightless domesticated duck.

  13. Eef you see floteing logs een you hotel sweeming pool, you no worry. We ees just logs. You sweem, have fun. No worry about logs.

  14. I’m coming to ComicCon…what kind of beer do you like. I’ll be the fat old guy, dressed like Flash.

  15. dang…wish i could go but im in a different country right now…..just a few days later….oh well bringing some pearls books cheers me up😀

  16. Hey Stephan, I was stuck doing a signing during your panel. I was hoping to ask for a sketch for a friend who’s a Pearls mega-fan. Any chance I can buy a sketch? Hope you had a great time in San Diego.

  17. I got bitched out of tickets this year, unfortunately, but will be there next year. As one of the nerds who likes to dress up as characters from comics/TV/film/books, I would love to do a Pearls costume. The trouble is that I can’t sew for toffee (or beer), which means I’m limited to humanoid characters. Since it’s far easier to comment on your blog than it is to learn to sew, can you introduce an occasional or recurring female character to your strip so I can dress up as her next year? I would describe myself so I wouldn’t even need a costume, but that’s too shameless, even for me.

  18. You’ll be drinking beer by the pool? Wow, it’s hard enough for me to drink it by the quart.

Leave a Reply

