A Dip Into the Email Bag

I’m a little behind in email.  About eleven months to be exact.  But I just found this one sent to me last August:

From:     (Name deleted)
Subject:     grammar
Date:     August 22, 2009 10:41:08 AM PDT
To:     Theratandpig@aol.com

I am writing to complain about the grammar in your comic strip.  Most of it is okay but this business of “What do you GOT there, Pig” is so grating and so wrong.  We try to teach our children the correct way to speak and then you use such an improper phrase to begin your strip.  Of course, it should be “What do you HAVE there, Pig?”.

This is not the first time you have used this exact phrase.  Please use proper grammar and make your strip enjoyable for all.  Thank you.



Normally, I don’t feel compelled to respond to emails such as this one, but the poor guy had sent the email almost a year ago, and I thought the least I could do was give him the courtesy of a reply.

So I did:


Subject:     Re: grammar
From:     Theratandpig@aol.com
Date:     June 23, 2010 10:36:39 AM PDT
To:     (Name deleted)

Dear (Name deleted),

That ain’t nothing,
My teachers learned me the same way, and I talk good.

Stephan


40 thoughts on “A Dip Into the Email Bag

  1. Really ? This guys’ biggest concern is Pearls grammer? Guess you got off easy.

  2. By the time children “get” Pearls they’ll appreciate the grammar for what it is – simply awesome comic speak.(I’d have paid better attention in school if we’d used the funnies to learn. Maybe my toddler grandson will one day be able to take a “Deconstructing Pastis” course.)

  3. I’m fond of “good” grammar, too; however, Stephan, in this case, you tell em!

  4. I guess if the reader didn’t “get” that it was Rat’s intentionally poor grammar that he was criticizing, then he also wouldn’t have known enough to address his criticism to Rat, and not you… I commend you for your restraint.
    Judi

  5. I’m sorry. This is so grating and wrong. She should have used a comma between the words “but” and “okay” to separate two independent clauses linked with a conjunction.

    “Most of it is okay, but this business of ‘What do you GOT there, Pig’ is so grating and so wrong.”

    fixed.

  6. Seriously? I never thought of using comic strips to teach my children grammar. Who knew I was missing out on such a great resource?

    Don’t you have to go to England for proper grammar? Most Americans I know don’t use it anyway. It’s kind of becoming one of those cute things our grandparents did.

    (May I add that I am a big fan of proper grammar, as my often drilled children can attest. But if it’s all the same to you I’ll be in charge of teaching them things like grammar. Rat can teach them sarcasm and disdain. Always do what you do best!)

  7. Stephan, I thought you’d like to know that the greatest “Over the Hedge” ever ran today. Not only did it include a zombie, it made a reference to “Pearls”.

  8. I tend to be a bit of a grammar Nazi myself, but everyday people don’t use the Queen’s English 24/7. The strip is a reflection of how people actually speak.

    That or Pastis is a complete and utter moron. 🙂

  9. Wow. Kids reading comics. Who would of thunk it. I thought it was just for us adults.

  10. I would’ve replied with something like that too. It’s a comic strip! With talking animals no less. I’m surprised he didn’t complain abouts the crocs’ oh so excellent grammar and way of speaking. Douchebags like that are the ones that ruin it

  11. And I bet they really watch their grammar on a regular basis. If they think you’re starting a sentence with “What do you Got there, Pig.” is bad they should stop and look at texting and those idiots who tried boycotting this year’s National Spelling Bee because some words are, according to them, too long (like they want us to spell enough as enuf). Doing that will make them grateful for your grammar, no matter how bad it may or may not be.

    Plus if I didn’t already know the local paper doesn’t carry Pearls (plenty of lame strips they could get rid of and they replaced a great strip with an incredibly lame one) then I’d swear the person complaining could have been my old ninth and twelth grade English teacher (well, you said it was a guy which would also rule her out). This is just the kind of thing she’d complain about and yet some of her grammar complaints made absolutely no sense.

  12. Now, what does she(?)got against your grammar? And does she mean paternal or maternal one…

  13. If he thinks the grammar is bad…you should do a strip abbreviated as if it were a text message. That would really make that guy mad. 🙂 ttyl!

  14. Does anyone else see a few”you bet your fanny” jokes coming up in the strip?

  15. The person that emailed you forgot to capitalize the title of the message. Instead of “grammar” it should actually be “Grammar”.

  16. I’ll never forget this:
    “Young man, have you forgotten your grammar?”
    “No ma’am, she’s home makin’ cookies.”

  17. Me thinks Rat is going to get Pig a divorce, and not out of the kindness of his heart but out of having to do too many things around the house.

    On the e-mail note, you do have a point, Pawsrent. The subject line is for the title of the e-mail. And if done correctly the first letter of certain words should be capitalized. If there is only one word in the title, no matter what the word is it should be capitalized.

  18. My friend does not pronounce things right sometimes. He’s obsesed with this thing called warhammer 40,000, and he says tearnids not tryanids. My other friend has has bad grammer, he would say: when did you got that? Not when did you get that. They have they’re problems I have mine… Also it’s a comic it’s supposed to be funny. I hate when people say that!!

  19. Oh brother…..guess this idiot doesn’t get the humor.
    Loved reading the comments to this post! Some are as funny as the strip! ☺

  20. Just wanted to say I love the gaters and zebras. You always start my day with a happy feeling.
    Thanks, Paul

  21. This doesnt have any thing to do with that, but I saw a Lio comic where Lio sent your charachters a box of puns.

Leave a Reply

