Saddamapalooza, Day 2

I am sitting in the lobby of our Kuwaiti hotel.

I am a high-value target.

I am bored.

With no beer to constructively fill my time, I decide to do the next best thing:

Bring peace to the Middle East.

One person at a time.

I approach a Kuwaiti man.

“May I take my picture with you?” I ask.

“Yes,” he says.

But he has a request.

“Can I hold the Kuwaiti flag?”

I want to say no.  But I am a diplomat.  So I agree.

“That would be acceptable to both me and my nation,” I say, speaking for our nation.

We take the picture.

DSCN0099

It is one small step for Stephan, but it is a giant leap for mankind.

And it is obvious to anyone watching that the gap between East and West, Islam and Christianity, has begun to close.

Bringing my Nobel Prize that much closer to my deserving hands.

And then it is ruined.

“Can I take a picture with you too,” asks the inappropriately jovial Rick Kirkman, co-creator of  “Baby Blues”.

He is oblivious to the diplomatic moment at hand.   And the history-making event is cheapened to a degree that words alone cannot express.

“Okay,” the man replies.

Reluctantly.

They take the picture.

DSCN0101

Surely, I say to myself, this is not happening.

“Can I take a picture too?” asks Mike Peters, “Mother Goose and Grimm” creator.

It is a full-blown diplomatic catastrophe.

The Kuwaiti man forces a smile.  They take the picture.

DSCN0102

More cartoonists walk over.

“One more and I charge you money,” says the Kuwaiti man, intuitively sensing that cartoonists are above all guided by their own cheapness.

“Oh,” the group mutters collectively and shuffles off.

The Kuwaiti man lights a cigarette and leaves.

The peace train is derailed.

My Nobel Prize, gone.

29 thoughts on “Saddamapalooza, Day 2

  1. To steal your thunder yet again–is that really Mike Peters? He looks like he’s 30 years old, but MGAG has been around since at least the early 80s. What’s his secret?

  2. awwwww! So close! If it’s any consolation, you’re the better looking of the 3 and my favorite of the 3…*smiles*

  3. Denise is right!

    You’re the best looking cartoonist of the bunch — if that’s saying anything — I mean, you’re cartoonists?!?

  4. So you’re the original and everyone else is the flock. That’s how you do it.

    Where’s Rat when you need him?

  5. Kuwaiti guy will joke with his friends about how this bunch of westerners came one after another for pictures :))

  6. yo! i’m a HUGE fan. i realy din’t read what you posted, so i have no idea what the heck i’m supost to be writing. any way i hope you have a nic stay in saddamapalooza!

  7. Dude, this is all fine and good, mind you, but please – PLEASE tell comics.com to get their act together! They have the clunkiest website on the internet man.

  8. But as far as losing the Nobel prize (easy joke coming), I hear they give it out for anything these days. You’re a shoe-in.

  9. Nooooooooo! all that film, WASTED! how aweful! Nobel prize stolen from fellow cartoonists! hahahaha! you really went there, didn’t you! I was contemplating whether or not you were joking. Guess not. Great, as always.

  10. Darn those other cartoonists for denying you your nobel prize!!! Darn then all to heck!!! No beer for them!!

  11. Peace is over-rated anyway.

    I would much rather you have taken a picture with someone burning an American flag. It’s not patriotic and it won’t bring peace, but it’s definitely something that will remind you of the region.

    -Josh

  12. Pingback: Cartoonists review their trip to Iraq » The Daily Cartoonist

  13. How can you visit a place that doesn’t have any rats or pigs? No zebras or crocs either. For shame! What’s next – will you be adding goats and camels to the strip?

  14. Mike Peters was born in 1943, according to the link for his site. He does not look his age, even in the close up. He also looks a little like Grimmy! His cartoon (and yours too of course) is one of my favorites. But Calvin and Hobbes is still the best of the best – just had to say that.

  15. (This is in response to a comment from Comics.com from 10/29/09)

    Are these the people who don’t understand why the queen cheered when Larry he was eaten?

    How hard was it to tell it was Larry’s wife?

    Why do I answer a question with a question? (TWICE)

    Stephan, rock the middle east!!

  16. Mike Peters looks like a stark-raving lunatic. Which is exactly how I always imagined he must look.

    If they’re looking for procrastinating, forty-year-old graduate students to go to Iraq for some reason, drop me a line.

Leave a Reply

