No More Room in the Brain

I forgot my mom’s address yesterday.  Had to fill it out on a form, and I couldn’t remember the name of the street.

Granted, it’s not the house I grew up in, but I did live there for a few summers.

It’s bothering me.

Making matters stranger, I have been working on memorizing a map of Iraq.  I can tell you that Ramadi, Fallujah and Karbala are all near each other on the Euphrates, and that Samarra is north of Baghdad on the Tigris.  And that Mosul is in the far north, and Basra is in the far south.

I’m now thinking that the new information I’m trying to learn is pushing out the old.

Like one more basketball shoved into an already packed upstairs laundry chute, each new ball added to the top is pushing one out into the laundry room.

I shove in a Karbala.  I lose a mom.

So I think I’m going to stop learning.  And stop reading.

Instead, I will spend more time relaxing.

I will sit and eat and talk about meaningless things with relatives.

If I can find their house.

24 thoughts on “No More Room in the Brain

  1. A few years ago, I came to the realization that my brain was too full, although I think my metaphor was a bucket overflowing, not basketballs in the laundry chute. I’ve been working on leaking some of the non-essential stuff out.

    Hope you find your mom!

  2. I remember reading a newspaper article about this phenomenon, so there may be some truth to your theory. Also, I had a “Homer Simpson” folder with almost the same idea…(He was screaming, “Everytime I learn something new, some old stuff gets pushed out of my brain!”) Perfect for a school notebook.

  3. I often feel like that… and I’m still kinda young… ok, so I’m in college. I just need to expand my laundry chute.

  4. No you won’t. People who rotate their knowledge always have something new to say. And you can always look up your mom’s address should you need it.

  5. Why waste it with relatives. We sit here each day and talk about nothing at all. I love Blueberries and Mangoes. Oh yeah, Pepi the Puppy is sleeping on the couch again…

  6. Or, you could shove basketballs into that laundry chute, although, I can’t help wondering how you know what would happen if you do that.

  7. Of course thats if you really want to find thier house. Why not just be very lazzy and invite everyone to one spot and talk about useless stuff just dont eat the foam peanuts….

  8. Yep, it sure sucks to get old. Wait until you have more hair growing from your ears than on the top of your head.

  9. It’s all still in there; it’s just been moved to another file. Instead of being in “I know,” it’s now at “Oh, yeah.”

    Imagine being in an unfamiliar place and hearing the strange woman who’s been spoon-feeding you oatmeal say, “Dad, I’m your daughter;” to which you reply, “Oh, yeah.”

  10. Considering your love for relatives I’m sure you’ll change your mind. If you can’t beat them… forget them!

  11. There’s a theory in my family that the drool on your pillow in the morning is unused brain stuff leaking out. It must be true, my dad told me that and he’s a neurologist.

  12. It is a mistake to think that [the mind] has elastic walls and can distend to any extent. Depend upon it there comes a time where for every addition of knowledge you forget something that you knew before.

    It is of the highest importance, therefore, not to have useless facts elbowing out the useful ones”.

    Sherlock Holmes, in “A Study in Scarlet”

    (and you thought it was only Calvin who had this idea (Calvin of Calvin & Hobbes).

  13. You’ll be amazed how much you remember once you relax. Truly. Take it from an old fart like me.

  14. There is a one act play called “The Zero Sum Mind” by S. Gregg that discusses this phenomenon as well. For every one thing learned, two are forgotten, therefore eventually leaving you with nothing in your brain. Someday we’ll probably all reach that point.

Leave a Reply

