Something I Know I’m Going To Regret Admitting About My Cell Phone

Two things seem to happen to me a whole lot when I use my cell phone in the car.

Either (1) The battery fails, or (2) I lose reception and the call is dropped.

Out of courtesy for the person on the other end of the phone, I try to warn them in advance that I might lose the call either because my battery is showing it’s down to one bar or the reception in the area I’m driving through is bad.

It happens so often that people inevitably ask me why I don’t get one of those chargers that plug into the cigarette lighter, or switch to a carrier with better reception in my area.

It’s a good question, because while I know these annoying things happen to everyone with a cell phone, I think they happen to me more.

The reason I think they happen to me more is that whenever the battery fails or I lose reception, it is caused by me pressing “end call.”

Hey.  At least I was courteous.

croc on phone

25 thoughts on “Something I Know I’m Going To Regret Admitting About My Cell Phone

  1. Hi!! I think another really good idea is to always say you are stepping into a meeting. Prove I’m not!!!

  2. don’t we all wish we could do that? that’s the reason i don’t have a phone. also i can no longer get the image of Jeff Keane screaming SCREW YOU!!! out of my mind.

  3. The thing you’re most likely to regret is using your cell phone in the car at all. When your car’s wrapped round another car, no-one will care about how your call ended.

  4. Stephan, I do hope that you mean when you use your cellphone in the car *when someone else is driving* ! Otherwise, shame on you, and solve your problem with a hands-free kit.

  5. Do I sense a Rat/Pigita storyline here? Cause ummmm….I’ve done that same thing to my girlfriend when I really really don’t want to talk. Happens alot too.

  6. Used to have to rub your chin on the mic or crumple paper with the analog phones to “lose signal”. I LOVE digital signals. One minute they are there, the next you have hit the end call button and the power switch and they are not. Just like Cellular indoor plumbing.

  7. Awesome! I’ve been using that excuse for quite some time now. The fact that it’s a brand new phone makes people a little suspicious of the “bad reception” excuse…

  8. If you got a battery charger for the car, then you could never “accidentally” hang up on someone and then blame the failing battery for the “mishap”.

    Survey Says: forget the charger.

  9. Dear Steve Jones,

    You sound sexy. Pinched-up scolds are H-O-T.
    I bet NObody poops on a party like you, cowboy.

  10. That’s why I’m glad I live in a state where it’s illegal to talk on the phone while driving… not that it stops everyone. Someone I know was riding his bike and was hit by a driver who was on his phone and not paying attention. The guy broke his leg in three places.

    Funnily, they outlawed talking on your cell phone while driving, but they forgot to outlaw text-messaging while driving for several months afterwards.

  11. I was just getting ready to post a comment but I am having an orgasm. I will try again later.

  12. Well as the French say “The Cat’s certainly out of the Baguette” now..

    You just blew an incredibly good excuse to blow someone off. Those don’t come easily..

    Wonder how naive my friends are?

  13. There’s a word for people like you. Unfortunately, it’s not printable. But I’m sure you’ve been called worse.

  14. That’s exactly what I do when I’m home…in my room…fiddling absent-mindedly with the charger, knowing full well that I can easily plug the phone in (as if it were actually low on battery), and also knowing that the person talking to me knows this as well, which leads me to wonder why nobody has asked me yet why I don’t just plug it in and continue the bland conversation.

  15. “It happens so often that people inevitably ask me why I don’t get one of those chargers that plug into the cigarette lighter, or switch to a carrier with better reception in my area.”

    Either they do not get the hint or they know why you ended the call already and are giving you the third degree. Candor is sometimes the best defense. Be like Rat. He would just say “I don’t want to talk to you anymore. Scram!”

Leave a Reply

