Just a Reminder

I will be at this year’s Comic-Con, taking place this week in San Diego, California.

I will be on two panels.  The first is this one on Friday, July 24:

Friday, 4:00 – 5:00 pm Spotlight on Stephan Pastis: Stephan Pastis (Pearls Before Swine) shares his unlikely tale of how he went from being a full-time lawyer to one of the most popular syndicated cartoonists in newspapers today, including a rundown of some his most popular strips, and some that weren’t so popular.  Room 2

The second panel is a group panel on Saturday, July 25:

Saturday, 12:00 – 1:00 pm  Comic Strip Syndication is Dead: Long Live Syndication!: Q and A Session with Stephan Pastis (Pearls Before Swine); Richard Thompson (Cul De Sac) and Keith Knight (The K Chronicles) on the pros and cons of comic strip syndication and the challenges and options for aspiring comic strip creators in this era of declining newspaper readership.  Room 7AB

I will be doing two signings also, both at the Comic Relief booth.  My signing schedule is 5:15 pm on Friday, and 2:oo pm on Saturday.

One word of warning:  I am a profound disappointment in person.  Ask anyone who’s met me.   On the upside, I can sign books, plush and body parts.  Depending on the body part.  And the body.

15 thoughts on “Just a Reminder

  1. Are you under the impression that those of us who haven’t met you in person don’t find you a disappointment?

  2. Any chance of a video/podcast of the Spotlight presentation ending up online? It would be great for all your fans who are unable to make the trek to San Diego this year. Just a thought. Thanks a million for an amazing strip and all your books.

  3. I’m gonna get there some day, and you better still be cartooning. You’d probably be the only reason i go ( though I have no idea whatsoever what goes on in the comic con.) Hopefully It’s cool. for your sake.

  4. Are you under the impression that those of us who haven’t met you in person don’t find you a disappointment? by Steve Noel July 22, 2009 at 3:09 AM

    LOL

  5. Stephan, I’m glad you put the proviso about the body part you would be willing to sign, considering you are attending a comic-con.
    Are you ever planning on appearing in Vancouver, Canada? Thanks for all the great strips!

  6. Has anyone seen the new comic themes from iGoogle? I just added Pearls Before Swine and it looks like they may rotate scenes. This is great for Pearls fans.

  7. I have met him.. and I must admit I was not profoundly disappointed.. While I was a bit star struck and tongue tied, Mr. Pastis still took the time out to have a conversation with my coworker and me.

    (sorry if I blew your cover Stephan..)

  8. I agree with Phil, love to see a video or podcast of the Comic Con address. Loved the strip today it inspired me to come look for a blog. Let us know if you posted the keynote anywhere.

  9. you were hardly a dissapointment. and it was fun to see you meet an old college buddy you hadn’t seen in years

  10. i LOVE pearls i was introdused to it like a year ago and now i have all the books and stuff😀 i want a atogragh🙂

  11. I wanted to come to that, but i live really far from there. It sounded really fun, and i couldn’t wait to meet Bill Keane.🙂

  12. I have to say it was a huge disappointment to meet you in Orlando. I expected you to be a big jerk. But I was wrong. You were a HUGE jerk.

Leave a Reply

