Meet Me and Be Oh So Disappointed

At long last, I have my schedule for this year’s Comic-Con, taking place this July 23 – 26 in San Diego, California.

I will be on two panels.  The first is this one on Friday, July 24:

Friday, 4:00 – 5:00 pm Spotlight on Stephan Pastis: Stephan Pastis (Pearls Before Swine) shares his unlikely tale of how he went from being a full-time lawyer to one of the most popular syndicated cartoonists in newspapers today, including a rundown of some his most popular strips, and some that weren’t so popular.  Room 2

The second panel is a group panel on Saturday, July 25:

Saturday, 12:00 – 1:00 pm  Comic Strip Syndication is Dead: Long Live Syndication!: Q and A Session with Stephan Pastis (Pearls Before Swine); Richard Thompson (Cul De Sac) and Keith Knight (The K Chronicles) on the pros and cons of comic strip syndication and the challenges and options for aspiring comic strip creators in this era of declining newspaper readership.  Room 7AB

I will be doing two signings also, both at the Comic Relief booth.  My signing schedule is 5:15 pm on Friday, and 2:oo pm on Saturday.

One word of warning:  I am a profound disappointment in person.  Ask anyone who’s met me.   On the upside, I can sign books, plush and body parts.  Depending on the body part.  And the body.

me mad at rat

20 thoughts on “Meet Me and Be Oh So Disappointed

  1. Hahaha spoken like a former attorney. “Depending on the body part. And body.” Nice disclaimer.

  2. Hi stephan, on the second panel (when you’re with richard, by the way I’d just do anything to be there) as an aspiring cartoonist myself what are the challenges and options for someone like me? as it says in the second panel text about the challenges and options?

  3. I would love to meet you but sadly I’m not able to make it out to California(I’m in Florida)I’m just curious as to why a guy who hates social interaction would want to be approached by hundreds of strangers? Just curious.

  4. @#^%$! Of course, I signed up for Thursday and Sunday, thus rendering me incapable of meeting you!

  5. Alas, this convention is “sold out,” and evidently, you need to be a registered member to get into the room where Stephan will be signing. Too bad…we love San Diego and would gladly go there to meet Stephan in person…wish I had had this info sooner!!

  6. Every peerson I meet is a disappointment! My 12 year old daughter turns to your comic before anything else in the paper. Thanks for the laughs, and for the talks we’ve had to have while explaining some of your stuff!!

  7. Hey man, you would probably get more participation here if you had someone update the comments more often.

    Jus’ sayin’.

  8. Wow–you musta made the big time, if you’re signing with Keith Knight! Can you get something signed by him?

  9. I have met Stephan at the Charles Schultz Museum in Santa Rosa, California for a book signing and I must say he was an immense disappointment. His autograph was barely legible, his drawing of Zebra messy and incomplete, and to top it all off, he spelled my name wrong.

    Plus, he graciously agreed to be in a picture with me but ended up ruining the picture completely simply by appearing in it. I definitely would not advise any of you guys to attend this Comic-Con only to meet Mr. Pastis.

  10. Stephan,

    Do you find yourself having a lot of gay admirers and followers of the strip? Whether yes or no, why do you think that is?

  11. Don’t underestimate your superpowers: you are a disappointment from a distance too. I bet it would crush me to meet you in person and find out that geography doesn’t improve my opinion of you. Oh yeah, and could you sign this book for me?

  12. its ok that you’re a “disappointment” Pastis… I hate to ruin my imagination with reality…but as always I love Pearls.

  13. Thank you for having a sense of humor that matches mine.
    I’m not the only one!

    I’m sure you and I would get along just fine

Leave a Reply

