The Falling Down Tour is Set — Come Fall Down With Me (UPDATED AGAIN ON 2/18)

(Good problems to have!  We once again hit the venue capacity for a location — this time in Richmond, Virginia.  New venue information below.)

Get ready to bring beer to your favorite cartoonist!  (Or to me.)

Because the book tour for the latest Pearls treasury, Pearls Falls Fast, is all set.

cropped-falling-down-image-for-blog.jpgTen brand-new cities!  All Pearls tour virgins!

Come hear me yammer about my transition from evil lawyer to kindhearted cartoonist, hear the sordid history of Pearls, see readers’ favorite strips, marvel at the strips that made complainers complain, and watch me slander many of my fellow cartoonists. Afterwards, I shall sign your books (and usually draw a character in each), provided that at least someone brings me beer.

Below please find the “lucky” 10 cities, all destined to have me scrawl Rat on the bathroom wall of one of their fine, local dive bars:

Monday, 3/24           Vroman’s Bookstore, 695 E Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA       7:00pm

Tuesday, 3/25          Bookworks, 4022 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM       7:00pm

Thursday, 3/27        Swift Creek Middle School, 3700 Old Hundred Road, Midlothian, VA 7:00 pm

Friday, 3/28              Park Road Books, 4139 Park Rd, Charlotte NC                       6:00pm

Saturday, 3/29         WORD Bookstore, 123 Newark Ave, Jersey City, NJ                  4:00pm

Monday, 3/31           A Room of One’s Own, 315 W Gorham St, Madison, WI               6:00 pm

Tuesday, 4/1             Joseph-Beth Booksellers, 161 Lexington Green Circle, Lexington, KY 7:00pm

Wednesday, 4/2       West Shore UU Church, 20401 Hilliard Blvd, Rocky River, OH  7:00pm

Thursday, 4/3          BookPeople, 603 N. Lamar Blvd., Austin, TX                              7:00pm

Saturday, 4/5            Watermark Books, 4701 E Douglas Ave, Wichita, KS                5:00pm

Once again, all apologies to the cities not on the list.  But there’s only one me.  And as  charming as I am, someone has to stay home and draw the strip occasionally.

And for the cities that ARE on the list, come on out and party like it’s 1999, because that’s roughly where I’m still at fashion-wise.

And speaking of fashion, please…wear clothes.

Your almost-favorite cartoonist,

Stephan

PearlsFallsFast_cover

41 thoughts on “The Falling Down Tour is Set — Come Fall Down With Me (UPDATED AGAIN ON 2/18)

  1. There are a couple hundred different kinds of micro brews to bring you when you get to Madison. How will I choose? Stout? Lager? Ale? Please don’t say IPA …

  2. Did the Cincinnati school visits materialize? Either way, if you come through here traveling from Lexington to Cleveland, maybe I could buy you lunch? I’ll throw in a beer or three if that’s the asking price.

  3. The Kollege Klub was one of the best college bars in Madison when I was there in 1965, and USA Today still ranks it, which says a lot about longevity.

  4. Oh, wait a sec. I think I’ve got your Pearls and Timmy tours mixed up. You do get around, don’t you?

  5. Wichita: the Anchor, although I don’t know about scrawling Rat or Pig or Croc on any walls. They have nice walls.

  6. Aw man! I was going to show up to your Richmond date. Then you said we had to wear clothes. Guess I’ll have to wait until your events become ‘clothing optional’.

  7. Woo Hoo!!!! Jersey City!!! Yes, I said that for Jersey City. It’s as closest as I’m going to get and I’ll take it. Can’t recommend a dive bar there, but there’s time for research.

  8. YO! Joe! (OK Steve) Why not stop in Milwaukee when you stop in Mad Wisconsin. We have better beer here.   We can Host!

    Ed Ciechanowski

  9. Will Scott Adams be on tour with you? I really like Scott Adams and Dilbert. Maybe I will come to Pasadena anyway.

  10. Be sure to invite me to the “after hours” party in Charlotte…as always, I will be there with lots of beer!

  11. I know, I know…the list is done…and yet you have a day between Austin and Witchita. And Dallas is just around the corner. You can have the guest bedroom.
    BTW, nice call back in today’s “Target” strip.

  12. How come you no book tour Hawaii? Cool vacation, take off on taxes. Seem you miss a bet, Mr. Pasties. Make sure you go Kona on Big Island. Honolulu over, no need go there. We gots hotels and own Hawaiian beer and lots pools to sit around. Hummm?

  13. Please, please say you’re not writing your own actual marital woes into your strip. Please, please. ‘Cause if you are, you can expect to have plenty more material where that came from. In fact, if Staci really did kick you out of the house, could you just lie and say it was just about your book tour? Because you would never make your marital problems worse by publishing them in your nationally syndicated comic strip. You never would.
    Seriously, just lie to me.

  14. Aw, man! I move out of Jersey City, and what happens? Eleven years later, Stephan Pastis himself shows up! My timing sucks.

    Regarding HelenK’s request above: I used to know a really scary dive bar in Jersey City, right on the corner of Sip Avenue and Van Wagenen Street. I used to walk past it on my way home. Usually I like dive bars, but I was afraid of this one. It was usually crowded and loud and I think they watched sports there. Passing the place from across the street, sometimes the patrons would throw stuff at me. A full can of beer once crashed into the sidewalk a couple feet from me, courtesy of one of that bar’s patrons.

    I just checked and discovered that this place is no more. There’s a little sliceteria there now. If you’re looking for a good place to drink (or eat), you might try Rita & Joe’s restaurant. It’s not divey at all, but it’s an excellent Italian restaurant. The dives I went to were both in Manhattan: Rudy’s Bar and the Subway Inn. If you go to these places, I warn you: eat nothing, and try not to use the bathrooms.

    I did much of my drinking in Hoboken, but don’t go looking for dives there. It’s too fancy-schmancy anymore.

  15. Outrageous fellow named Stephan Pastis, Is being case that if you come to Philadelphia (city of brotherly love) PA we will show you the way to New Jersey. All smells like that come from New Jersey.

    Dos Vidanay Stephan!

  16. Outrageous Fellow named Stephan Pastis,

    is being case that you have outraged me to limit. In cartoon today you show guard duck with bow and arrow. How is being case with guard duck that has no opposable thumbs? I challenge you to strip to waist and box. OK only winner in this scenario is Jenny Craig as she will sell top notch number of new memberships if picture of said battle is published.

    Dos Vidanya Stephan

  17. Should I RSVP to the Pasadena one or takes my chances against the inevitable masses of people trying to see you?

  18. Will you be willing to sign the new Timmy book at the Pearls tour stops?

  19. I bring beer if you bring zeeba. We share. If you no bring zeeba then peese shut mouf, I drink beer myself. P.S. Where buy beer?

  20. We like our tequila as much as our beer in the “Burque” so when you’re here on the 25th, we’ll bring some miniatures to complement your beer swilling! Then you’ll really be falling down!

  21. Dude. It’s a big country. Telling me to go to Michigan is like me telling you to go to Albuquerque.

  22. I am a partner in a great microbrewery, Straight To Ale in Huntsville, AL. Sad you won’t be here on this tour. We have many styles of beer and am sure you would find one you like, plus the space theme (NASA is here and I work there too) and awesome artwork for our posters and labels. We even have a goat. Hope you can make it by our place on a future tour. We have lots of fun.

  23. Pingback: Pearls Before Swine Creator Stephan Pastis Appearing in Madison Tonight » Comics Worth Reading

  24. I’m going to bring a pseudo beer–a Woodchuck hard cider. I hope you will like it.

  25. So amazing to have had you visit here (at Bookworks, in Albuqueque). You’d think, because I live across the street, that I’d get there early, but no, I thought ten minutes early was good enough. Could only get a little ways in one of the doors. I did manage to peak through people and books and watch parts of the slides, but your commentary is hilarious. I really enjoyed it. If you come around this part of the country again, I hope you do this in a bigger place; that was the biggest crowd I have ever seen in that bookstore. People standing up, packed in like cords of wood, and spilling out both doors to the sidewalk. Since then I’d read two treasuries, and two collections, and certainly more to come. It’s strange, though, that even though I’ve a degree in English, and worked a lifetime in science labs, and, of all the characters in your books, my mind drifts to the crocs. Evree day mee get thees beeg want talk like croc. Zeeba zeeba eata in me hed. Brain ees bad now. Why you do dis me? Rat got bat. Iss maybee coming fur you.

Leave a Reply

